generally

Reisebericht von Andi – November 2016

During my trip to Nepal I met all our godchildren personally and met the parents or people who take care of them. Of course the relations are a little more complicated and for us they seem quite unusual, who is bringing up who. The money of the already existing godparenthoods were paid out in advance until  March. Maya’s school is now paid for the school year 2017/18; so that she can visit the third class without worries. The headmaster confirmed that she is diligent and hard working. I had the pleasure right in the beginning of my trip to Nepal that she was on holidays and we managed a trip to Pairo together. At the lodge which is now being rebuilt half the size (6 instead of 12 rooms) I had met Maya 4 years ago!
Thanks to Uta she has now got new hiking shoes so she has appropriate footwear to spend her school holidays in the mountains where she has lived before.

In Solukhumbu I visited the family who’s addition to the house was partly financed by our association.  The hearth which is now in the little addition is still smoking away but at least it is not inside the living room anymore.  In Hil we found another 5 children who we would like to help with the monthly amount of 10 Euros. We have already found sponsors. The money basically covers the school fees. You can’t compare the educational system to ours here. Lots of values and virtues we hold high are meaningless there because the circumstances of living in hardship rules their lives.

Every school expects the children to wear school uniforms. Some schools expect two sets. One for the regular school day, the other for sports. Usually school uniforms are around 25 to 30 Euro a set.  The monthly fee of primary school is around 7 to 10 Euro. T

Going into the villages you find financial help needed everywhere. Hil does not even have a medical station right now.  No doctor or nurse in the village and it is a long way to the next medical center. Medical treatment is hard to get and expensive, once they finally reach one.  All the goods are expensive, because they have to be carried into the valley, even medication.

Allgemein

Reisebericht von Andi – November 2016

Bei meiner Reise nach Nepal habe ich alle unsere Patenkinder und ihre Eltern oder „Erziehungsberechtigten“ persönlich getroffen. Natürlich sind die Verhältnisse etwas komplizierter als bei uns und wenn jemand interessiert ist berichte ich gerne ausführlich. Die Gelder der schon bestehenden Patenschaften wurden wieder bis März im Voraus ausbezahlt.  Maya’s Schule ist für das Schuljahr 2017/18 bezahlt; sodass sie in aller Ruhe die dritte Klasse besuchen kann. Der Rektor bestätigte mir, dass sie fleißig ist und gewissenhaft arbeitet. Ich hatte das Vergnügen mit ihr, gleich zu Beginn, einen Besuch in der ehemaligen Lodge in Pairo machen zu können. Dort  hatte ich sie auch vor 4 Jahren kennengelernt! 
Dank Uta hat sie auch noch neue Wanderschuhe bekommen, mit denen sie in den Ferien bei ihrer „Pflege- und ehemaligen Arbeitgeberfamilie“ in „Urlaub“ GEHEN kann.

In Solukhumbu besuchte ich die Familie, deren Anbau am Haus der Verein mitfinanziert hat. Die Kochstelle raucht noch immer, aber sie ist außerhalb des Wohnraums. In Hil fand ich noch weitere 5 Kinder denen wir gerne mit der 10-Euro-Patenschaft helfen würden. 10 Euro pro Monat decken grob die monatllichen Schulgebühren.  Man darf sich die Schulbildung und frühkindliche Erziehung nicht vorstellen, wie bei uns. Die Umstände des harten Lebens diktieren die Notwendigkeiten des Alltags. Schuluniformen sind Pflicht und zur monatlichen Schulgebühr kommen die Kosten von 25 bis 30 Euro pro Schuluniform. Manche Schulen verlangen zweierlei, eine für Sport eine für den normalen Alltag.

Soweit, sogut, es gibt immer und überall Ecken an denen man noch ein bisschen helfen kann.IN Hil gibt es derzeit keine medizinische Versorgung und der Weg ist weit bis zum nächsten Krankenhaus. Medizinische Versorgung ist dort immer Mangelware, sodass Gelder dafür nötig sind. Schnell ist auch hier mal eine OP nötig oder ein Arztbesuch (man geht ja erst wenn man nicht mehr auf den Beinen stehen kann) und dann fehlt dafür den meisten das „flüssige Geld“.